OpenCart Templates
Home / Uncategorized / Interactive Session Between SCEEP Communities of Kano Municipal Local Government and the Political Aspirants

Interactive Session Between SCEEP Communities of Kano Municipal Local Government and the Political Aspirants

By Sagiru Ado Abubakar

Ahead of Kano State Local Governments Election, the Center for Information Technology and Development (CITAD) has been organizing interactive sessions between SCEEP Communities in the six local governments of Kano State and the Political Aspirants. The interactive session aimed to present the copies Community Development Charter (CDC) produced by the members of 18 SCEEP Communities in the state to the political Aspirants. Community Development Charters or Village Books are documents that supported the communities to identify their issues, map their communities and draw up development needs and
plans for the communities for the purpose of engaging government to deliver on their duties to citizens.
On Thursday, January 25, 2018 about 70 participants from Dan Agundi, Yakasai and Zaitawa wards of Kano Municipal Local Government converged at Ni’imah Guest Palace, Kano with the political aspirants from different parties in the local government with view to interact with each other and present the community charters of Dan Agundi, Zaitawa and Yakasai wards to the political aspirants. In his opening remark, Malam Ahmad Abdullahi Yakasai, CITAD Training Coordinator, said that often promises made by politicians are almost forgotten as soon as they are elected, the documents will help and remind the policy makers basic needs of the people and key them into their plans and actually use the document as a community development blue print in their locations. He then told that we are not here to abuse anybody or pass tract the activities of any political party.
Malam Umar Muhammad, Deputy Director, Planning, Research and Statistics, Kano State Senior Secondary School Management Board reviewed the village books of the three SCEEP communities in the local government. He explained that the books talked about the history, social condition and assets of the communities. He then outlined major problems listed in each book for each community.
The political aspirants were giving a chance to talk on the strategies taken to address problems and challenges mentioned in the village books. In their separate comments, they explained as follows:
• Hon. Bashir Muhammad Abdullahi, Chairmanship aspirant of Freedom and
Justice Party (FJP) said that if elected will be sitting with the community leaders time to time in order to strategize ways for solving the problems of the people.
• Hon. Aliyu Muhammad of the National Democratic Liberty Party (NDLP) promised to focus attention on basic education, job opportunities for the youths and provision of the social amenities.
• Hon. Rabiu Sarki of African People’s Alliance (APA) said that he will cooperate with vigilant groups to tackle the problems of drug abuse, adding that the problems of drug abuse is the basis of all societal problems.
• Hon. Yakubu Yahya Sani of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) promised to liaise with parents in order to tackle the problem of school dropout and absenteeism in public schools.
• Hon Aminu sani Bakosa of the People Democratic Party (PDP) said that he will join hands with relevant stakeholders in the education sector to revive basic education at the public schools.
• Hon. Aliyu Jibrin Muhd of Mega Progressive Peoples Party (MPPP) assured when elected to use the books given hence they contained the major challenges in the simply manner.
• Hon. Hamisu Liman of Legacy Party of Nigeria (LPN) said when given the chance will work closely with relevant community based organizations in his administration.
• Hon Gazzali Datti Ahmad of National Conscience Party (NCP) promised to prioritize the problems and start with most important.
The councillorship aspirants present at interactive session were Hon. Babangida Shuaibu Dan Agundi of NDLP, Hon Jamilu Bala Dan Agundi of FJP, Hon. Muddassir Yusuf Yakasai of PDP, Hon Abubakar Ibrahim Yakasai of APA, Hon. Nura Yusuf Bayero Dan Agundi of PDP and Hon. Auwalu Ishaq Yakasai of ADP.
Others included Hon. Abba Mustapha Yakasai of YPP, Hon Tasi’u Auwalu Yakasai of NCP, Hon Jamilu Hamisu Adamu Yakasai of SDP, Hon. Ali Yusuf Baba Dan Agundi of APC, Hon Suleiman H. Suleiman Dan Agundi of GPN and Hon. Ibrahim S. Zaitawa of APC.

About Abdulazzez YZ

Check Also

We Introduced Women-IGF To Ensure Digital Inclusion

By Bashir Muhammad Kano. Assistant Programme Officer, Gender and Internet Advocacy of the Centre for ...